Many bigwigs fail to make their way to National Assembly

ISLAMABAD: Many prominent leaders were not part of the National Assembly this time as Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is all set to form government in the center after clinching victory in election 2018.

According to details, former Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar, ex-prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and former railway minister Khawaja Saad Rafique were not able to take any seat in the assembly.

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman, Mahmood Achakzai, Aftab Sherpao and Abid Sher Ali also failed to convince the voters for their position in the House.

Ex-PM Nawaz Sharif, Daniyal Aziz and Talal Chaudhry were disqualified and declared ineligible for the elections due to cases against them.

On the other hand, several fresh faces were witnessed during the oath-taking ceremony in National Assembly (NA). Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto, PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif and Jamhoori Watan Party’s (JWP) Shahzain Bugti sworn-in for the first time on NA seat.

Various leaders of PTI including Asad Qaisar, Hammad Azhar, Sheikh Khurram Shahzad, Farrukh Habib, Zartaj Gul, Andleeb Abbas, Faisal Vawda and Ali Zaidi also made their debut in the assembly.

It is to be mentioned here that outgoing NA speaker Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to 331 MNAs-elect in the 342-member house during 15th session.

On the occasion, strict security arrangements were made as at least a thousand security men were deployed in and outside the parliament building.

The Constitution makes it mandatory to convene NA session within 21 days of general elections.

%d bloggers like this: