PCB Announces 16-Man Squad For Asia Cup 2018

Lahore: Pakistan Cricket Board has announced a sixteen members national squad for the Asia Cup which is set to begin on the 15th of this month in United Arab Emirates.

Chief Selector of the PCB, Inzamam-ul-Haq announced names of the players at a press conference in Lahore this afternoon.

Sarfraz Ahmad will lead the team, while Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Faheem Ashraf, Muhammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Hassan Ali and Usman Shanwari are included in the squad.

Imad Wasim who was brought back into the training camp has failed to pass the fitness test whereas Hafeez has also failed to get his name in the squad of 16. Chief Selector has announced that no compromise will be made on fitness while also saying that it is not the end of the career for any player including Mohammad Hafeez.

The players are currently in a training camp undergoing at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore. The Yo-Yo Endurance tests proved Hassan Ali to be the fittest player in the squad with 20 points while Sarfaraz Ahmed also scored his career-best 18.2.  Imad Wasim could not pass the threshold of 17.4; he ended with 17.2.