Khawaja Asif retains NA-73 seat following vote recount

ISLAMABAD : Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan has been declared wining candidate from NA-131 after recounting of 2,835 rejected votes.

Imran Khan emerged as the winner again by 602 votes whose victory was challenged by the runner-up candidate, Khawaja Saad Rafique of the Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N).

Meanwhile, PML-N leader Khawaja Asif retained his NA-73, Sialkot 2 seat as re-tabulation of votes in different constituencies across the country continued for a second day today.

The vote recount was completed in NA-73 with Asif receiving 45 more votes than before. The vote count of PTI’s Muhammad Usman Dar, who had requested the re-tally in the constituency, increased by 132 but he still remained behind the PML-N leader.