Asad Qaiser named NA Speaker, Ch Sarwar nominated as Punjab Governor

Islamabad: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has named former speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly as Speaker of the National Assembly, whereas, Chaudhry Sarwar has been selected for the seat of Punjab Governor.

The announcement was made by PTI Vice President Shah Mehmood Qureshi in Islamabad on Friday.

Qureshi also announced that the party has also nomianted PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi for Punjab Assembly Speakership.

Replying to a question regarding appointment of next Punjab chief minister, the PTI leader remarked that final name will be revealed by party chief Imran Khan.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi said PTI will hold a meeting of all the party MNAs and the allies on Monday to discuss future strategy in the process of formation of government. He said the party has also assigned some senior party leaders the task of coordinating with elected members of the party.

He said Pervez Khattak will be in contact with the party s elected members in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and the erstwhile FATA areas, Dr. Arif Alvi with lawmakers-elect from Sindh, Shafqat Mahmood with the members of central Punjab, Chaudhry Sarwar with western Punjab, Amir Kiani with PTI elected leaders from northern Punjab, and Shah Mahmood Qureshi will coordinate with the PTI elected members from southern Punjab.

Earlier, talking to newsmen at Bani Gala, PTI Senator Faisal Javed said Imran Khan will take oath of the office of Prime Minister on August 18.

President has summoned the session of National Assembly on 13th August (Monday) at 10:00am in the morning. The first sitting of the session will see the newly elected MNAs taking oath of their office. Outgoing Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq will administer oath to the newly elected members. This will be followed by the elections of speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the house.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has nominated its Chairman Imran Khan for the slot of leader of the house while PML (N) President Shahbaz Sharif has been fielded as joint candidate by the opposition.

PTI is yet to name its candidate for the slot of the deputy speaker.

Meanwhile, special counters have been set up at National Assembly secretariat to facilitate and guide the newly elected members of the assembly. These counters will help the elected lawmakers to get membership cards of the assembly and other information.

The counters will remain open from 10 a.m. to five p.m.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.