PTI Usman Buzdar elected as new Chief Minister Punjab

LAHORE: The Punjab Assembly has elected PTI Sardar Usman Buzdar as the new Chief Minister of Punjab with 186 votes.

The Punjab Assembly session was held to elect the new chief minister of the province.

PMLN Hamza Shahbaz secured 159 votes only.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Sardar Usman Buzdar for the slot of Punjab chief minister, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has fielded Hamza Shehbaz for the province’s most coveted post.

Punjab Assembly Speaker Chaudhry Parvez Elahi is chairing the session.

Before the session commenced, members of the opposition chanted slogans and protested by wearing black armbands. The commotion led to a delay in the proceedings of today’s session. PML-N claims having required numbers for Punjab chief ministership

PTI dominates Punjab Assembly with 179 seats, whereas PML-N has 164 seats in the house.

Prime Minister Imran Khan earlier reposed his confidence in Buzdar for the post of CM Punjab via a video message. Explaining his decision, the PTI chief said that Buzdar hailed from the most impoverished area of Punjab and he had decided on him as the party’s candidate after due diligence.

Hamza Shehbaz, the son of Shehbaz Sharif and PML-N’s nominee for Punjab chief minister, slammed PTI for coming to power through unfair means, calling it an “unfair match”.

“We are only taking oaths because we want the process of democracy to continue,” he told reporters ahead of the assembly session on Sunday.

He demanded a parliamentary commission to probe the electoral process, and said his party will play its constitutional role.