Dr Farooq Sattar Resigns From MQM-P’s Rabita Committee

KARACHI: The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan leader Dr Farooq Sattar on Thursday resigned from the party’s top decision-making body, Rabita Committee. The development has come in the backdrop of Sattar’s confirmation that he is consulting with his close friends over an offer he had received from the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) to join the party. “I have […]

PM assures MQM of addressing peoples’ problem in Sindh

ISLAMABAS – A delegation of Muttahida Qaumi Movement called on Prime Minister Imran Khan in Islamabad on Wednesday and discussed problems faced by Sindh province especially its big cities such as Karachi and Hyderabad. In his remarks, Prime Minister Imran Khan said the government is cognizant of the problems faced by the people of Sindh […]

Anti-encroachment drive in karachi : MQM to hold protest against KDA

KARACHI –  The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) on Sunday has announced to hold a protest demonstration against the Anti-encroachment drive in the metropolis. According to details, the Sindh government is also expected to submit a plea in the Supreme Court, seeking a review of the orders of anti-encroachment operation. The Karachi Development Authority (KDA) in […]

MQM-P secures landslide win against PTI in Karachi by-poll

KARACHI – The polling for by-election in the Sindh Assembly constituency PS-94 Korangi-III, Karachi was held in a peaceful manner. According to unofficial results of by-election in Sindh Assembly constituency PS-94 Korangi-III, Karachi, the candidate of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan Syed Hashim Raza is leading with 21,136 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek Insaf candidate Mohammad Ashraf Jabbar […]

AC issues arrest warrants for MQM’s Babar Ghauri in KPT corruption case

KARACHI: A responsibility court on Saturday issued non-bailable capture warrants for Muttahida Qaumi Move­ment-Pakistan (MQM-P) pioneer Babar Ghauri for a situation identified with illicit arrangements in the Karachi Port Trust (KPT). The ex-serve is confronting charges of Rs 2.8 billion defilement in the KPT. As indicated by the National Accountability Bureau (NAB), eight men, including […]

By-elections on NA-247, PS-III Karachi, PK-71 Peshawar to be held tomorrow

Karachi: By-elections for National Assembly seat NA-247 Karachi, Sindh Assembly seat PS-111 and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly seat PK-71 will be held tomorrow (Oct 21). Election Commission has finalized all necessary arrangements to hold the elections in a peaceful manner. NA-247 was vacated by President Arif Alvi while PS-111 was vacated by Sindh Governor Imran Ismail […]

Rao Anwar retires after 37 years of service

KARACHI – SSP Rao Anwar retired on the first day of the 2019 after serving 37 years in Sindh police department, sources said Monday. Sources said Rao Anwar had joined Sindh police department as Assistant Sub Inspector (ASI) in 1982 and was serving as Senior Superintendent of Police Malir, Karachi since killing of Naqeebullah in […]

Asad Qaiser elected as new Speaker of 15th National Assembly of Pakistan

*ISLAMABAD – Asad Qaiser has been announced as the new Speaker of the National Assembly with 176 votes while Khursheed Shah secured 146 votes.* *Total 330 votes were polled while 8 votes were rejected.* *Polling for the new speaker of the National Assembly is over. The speaker and deputy speaker will be announced shortly.* The votes were […]

Imran Khan names Haleem Adil Sheikh opposition leader in Sindh

KARACHI: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated the candidate for the slot of the opposition leader in the Sindh Assembly. MPA-elect Haleem Adil Sheikh has been nominated as PTI candidate for the position of leader of the opposition in the Sindh Assembly. * Shortly after his nomination, the PTI leader also won support from party […]

Former MNA Ali Raza Abidi killed in Karachi gun attack

KARACHI: Former Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) MNA Syed Ali Raza  Abidi  has been killed in a drive-by targeted attack  in Karachi, family and police said.  The gun attack took place outside his residence at Khayaban-e-Ghazi.  According to police, unknown gunmen opened fire on Abidi’s vehicle and sped away.   SSP South told media that Abidi was […]